Nothing, not even cancer, can change or detract from the enormity of love that Trent and I have for each other.  I have heard stories of women who have written down the qualities they want their prospective mates to possess.  I never made a list of what Trent would or would not look like or be like.  I am glad because, like sobriety, if I had imagined who I would want to marry, I would have sold myself short. 

Last night, I went home and we sat on the couch and he told me about the faith he has and in his very calm, very loving, very Trent way, convinced me that things are going to be alright.  He tells me I am beautiful nearly every morning.  He tells me that it is my spirit that he has fallen in love with and that  cancer cannot take that from me.  He tells me that everything will be alright and I believe him.

Tomorrow he is celebrating ten years of sobriety.  That is a long, long, miraculous length of time.  To get ten years, one has to be persistent, steadfast, determined, patient, loyal, true, focused, passionate, dedicated and in love with life.  Trent is all of those things and many more.  I am so proud of him and so proud to be the one he has chosen to love.  So,

Fuck Cancer!!!  I’m still the luckiest girl in the whole wide world.

