Last night was an incredible celebration.  Trent celebrated 10 years of sobriety and the room was filled with friends, family, and the kind of unconditional love that most people don’t even know exists.  Fellowship cannot be described and neither can the power of our home group.

Our home group moved a few years ago.  I was so sad because I had found a way out of hell in those little rooms.  I mistakenly believed the power was in the walls, the floor and the foundation.  And when we moved, the power moved too and I learned that it doesn’t matter where “we” are.  “We” are the power and it comes along with us. 

Last night the room was charged.  They joy and love was literally electric.  Trent had a wonderful time.  Gary told a great story.  And everyone celebrated the fact that hopelessness is a myth, that it is never too early or too late to grab hold of life, and that miracles can and do happen every day.  I can’t speak for anyone else, but that’s why I’m not drinking or using.  That’s why I go to meetings regularly.  Truly, that’s why I’m here.

