If you have heard me tell my story at a meeting, then you know that the above expression is my first experience with the second step (Came to believe a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity).  For those of you who don’t know the story, I’ll briefly recap.

At the end of my using, I wound up in a room at Peachford Hospital with my father sitting across from me.  He told me that he would do anything at all to help me as long as I helped myself.  He told me that if I did not follow the program completely, he would not help me at all.  I was in unimaginable withdrawal at the time.  I just KNEW there was no recovering from the physical, mental, emotional place I was in.  I said, “Daddy, I don’t think I can do this”.  He looked me dead in the eye and with all the conviction in the world said, “You can and you will do this”.  And I believed that he believed.  I believed him every day until I believed it for myself.  I believed it until I KNEW I could and would recover.  I believe it today when I am recovered.

Lately, I have been talking to my father almost daily either via telephone or email.  More than once, he has told me that I will overcome this cancer and that I will live a long and happy life.   And when I don’t believe that, I believe that he believes.  This time I have a track record proving that when my father knows I can do something I think I cannot do, he is correct.  I can and I will beat cancer.  I can and I will live a long, happy life. 

Thank you, Daddy.

