Hi Everyone.

I am home and I am not entirely functional yet because I still have a tube attached to me that will hopefully come out soon.  Aside from being uncomfortable and painful physically the tube is a fashion catastrophe.  I am therefore currently most comfortable at home right now.

On the bright side, my surgery was succesful in that the cancer was removed, the margins were clear (meaning that they got the whole tumor) and the reconstruction I wanted was done.  My doctors were able to save all my skin, including my nipple.  That is good because first, the cancer did not spread into any area of my skin and because it means my blood circulation is healthy.   I feel like overall the plastic surgeon did a good job and that undressed, my man-made boob looks pretty similar to the one G-d made.

On the not so bright side, cancer was found in one lymph node.  They tested 8 and 7 of the eight were benign and one was cancerous.  This sucks because it means I absolutely, positively have to do chemo.  However, since the lymph node involvement is minimal, my prognosis is great.  So, let me say it out loud.  I HAVE AN EXCELLENT PROGNOSIS.  I AM GOING TO BE FINE.

You may be wondering why I feel the need to put that in all caps.  It seems some people hear the word cancer and assume that it is a death sentence.  I understand.  I too have known people, including family members, who have died of cancer.  My attitude has alot to do with my outcome according to my doctors.  So, my attitude is positive and I intend to do whatever is necessary to keep it that way. 

I have had people approach me lately with stories of doom and death regarding breast cancer.  I no longer will be  participating in that madness.  If I have to literally walk away from someone in mid-sentence, I will do it.  I will NOT have conversations about other cancer patients whose treatment is failing or who are dying.  I will not listen to how sick chemo has made someone.  I will not talk about doom or death, not mine or anyone else’s because I have a wedding to plan, a man to marry, a father who is going to walk me down the aisle.  I’M STILL RIGHT HERE!!

