Kaiser Permanente is terrific.  Seriously, that place has probably saved my life.  They have made all the calls I don’t know that I would have had the courage to make.  They called ME to schedule the biopsy, mastectomy, and every x-ray, mri, and cat scan. 

I have come to rely on them to do for me what I cannot do for myself.  I have been searching for the courage to call and schedule chemo and haven’t found it yet.  Of course, in the back of my mind, I knew they would call me if I couldn’t call them. 

The nurse called today and scheduled my first infusion for the middle of next week.  She didn’t seem happy about my not having a port and told me that if my veins were at all troublesome, I would need to get a pick line (a semi-permanent iv).  I told her I am going to be a bright-sider and believe my veins will hold out through all of this.  I hope….

In the meantime, today I pampered myself by shopping.  I bought the most delicious looking and smelling all natural bath soaps.  I spent almost two hours in Sephora and any real girly girl knows that is like a slice of heaven.

Tonight I spent time with Trent.  He said our passion, our love, our romance, our humor and our friendship is so much stronger than cancer.  We are not going down without a fight.  We…  As my father said to me one day, Trent is the kind of man who makes you believe in G-d.

I used my new soap and soaked in a world of bubbles like a kid.  I scrubbed my face and applied loads of free samples of expensive creams and serums.  I used my new perfume that was a lovely splurge. 

I feel the minutes ticking by.  I am revelling in them.  I am sucking the life out of every second these days.  Truly, it’s not a bad way to live.

